power companies have incorporated brief climatological duties into the general work of some of their employees. These climatological stations have contributed much useful information on temperature and precipitation for publication by the Meteorological Branch.

There are about 630 stations classified as precipitation stations where rainfall and snowfall only are observed and recorded. Since precipitation varies more rapidly than temperature over short distances, a dense network of these stations is required, especially in large urban areas. Finally, there are about 45 miscellaneous stations where observations of wind, sunshine and temperature are taken for special purposes. In all, the total number of weather stations in Canada has been growing at a rate of more than 50 a year for the past decade and thus a steadily increasing climatic intelligence is assisting Canadians in all economic pursuits.

## Section 3.—Standard Time and Time Zones

Standard time, which was adopted at a World Conference held at Washington, D.C., in 1884, sets the number of time zones in the world at 24, each zone extending over one twenty-fourth of the surface of the earth and including all the territory between two meridians 15° longitude apart. The basis of world time is Greenwich time and all other time zones are a definite number of hours behind Greenwich.

Canada has seven time zones, the most easterly being Newfoundland standard time, three hours and thirty minutes behind Greenwich time. In the west, Pacific standard time, used throughout British Columbia and part of the Northwest Territories, is eight hours behind Greenwich, and Yukon standard time, used throughout the Yukon Territory, is nine hours behind Greenwich. Some municipalities adopt the time used by the local railways which, in certain cases, differs from the standard. There are also villages that adopt such time as seems best to suit their convenience but in general the legal boundaries of the different time zones are actually in use.

